top of page
AdobeStock_237177607.jpeg

Patient insight

Privileged access to data, biological samples and clinical trials

Patients are at the heart of all the cluster’s activities. They not only guide our innovation strategy but are also part of the projects supported by the PSCC through clinical trials, biological samples and associated data. To accelerate projects, we provide innovators with a platform that facilitates access to these three key resources.

Data

Precision oncology generates huge amounts of data. The challenge is to organize, process, analyze and share these data, but also to standardize them. The PSCC builds with its partners a dedicated platform to facilitate access to patient data available in clinical centers (RWD and RCT data), ensuring interoperability and data quality.

The data are very heterogeneous in nature (DNA sequences, expression profiles, immune parameters, images, etc.), language (imaging professionals use the same computer language to share their data, but this is not the case in biology, in the world of omics, etc.), type (preclinical studies, cohorts, registries, clinical trials, etc.) and location (multiple research and care centers, organizations, etc.).

 

One of the priorities of the PSCC is to accelerate and rationalize access to these data and to guarantee their standardization, quality and interoperability. To meet this challenge, the cluster is setting up:

  • A federated data network (while the data will remain at the institutions, multi-site queries will now be possible);

  • A single point of entry for all project leaders;

  • Assistance to healthcare institutions so that they can accelerate their efforts in terms of quality and interoperability.

Conducted in partnership with UNICANCER, this project already brings together the Gustave Roussy Institute, the Curie Institute, the Léon Bérard Center, the AP-HP and the Foch Hospital and benefits from data from the France Genomic Medicine 2025 plan (more than one million genomic sequences). To go even further, the PSCC is partnering with Cancer Core Europe, the network that brings together seven of Europe's largest research and care institutes.

Biological samples

Accelerated and rationalized access to samples, rigorously preserved and annotated, as well as to associated metadata.

Biobanks are now part of the basic kit of translational research (identification and validation of therapeutic targets, prognostic biomarkers, support to preclinical trials, etc).

 

At a time of very high throughput (new generation sequencing, microfluidics, screening platform, etc), the PSCC federates French oncology players (the national network of cancer centers Unicancer, the Gustave Roussy Institute and the AP-HP) to accelerate and rationalize access to large volumes of samples (cells, tissues, biological fluids and derived products) that are rigorously preserved and annotated, as well as to associated metadata. 

Clinical trials

Integrated offering to accelerate clinical trials from design to patient enrolment, with dedicated support teams at partner hospitals.

They last longer, recruitment is more difficult (due to the "fragmentation" of cancers into different molecular subtypes), and there are more criteria (inclusion, evaluation, etc) and models (basket trials, umbrella trial, etc).

 

We help young companies in the cluster to overcome these difficulties by offering them:

  • Internal and external expert advice (trial design, regulatory constraints, referral to specialized companies, grant application, etc)

  • The operational commitment of a team of clinicians experienced in early clinical trials (investigators, biostatisticians, methodologists, experts in pharmacovigilance, immunomonitoring, quality control, etc)

  • The support of an internal project coordinator at all stages of the study

  • Financial support for sponsors of these trials in partner hospitals.

bottom of page

top of page
AdobeStock_237177607.jpeg

Patient insight

L’accès privilégié aux données, aux échantillons biologiques et aux essais cliniques

Les patients sont au cœur de toutes les activités du cluster. Ces derniers guident non seulement notre stratégie en matière d’innovation mais ils sont aussi parti-prenante des projets soutenus par le PSCC au travers des essais cliniques, des échantillons biologiques et des données associées. Pour accélérer les projets, nous mettons à la disposition des innovateurs une plateforme qui facilite l’accès à ces trois ressources clefs.

Données

L’oncologie de précision génère d’énormes quantités de données. Le défi est d’organiser, traiter, analyser et partager ces données mais aussi de les standardiser. Le PSCC travaille en collaboration avec ses partenaires à la création d'une plateforme dédiée pour faciliter l'accès aux données des patients disponibles dans les centres cliniques -données de vie réelle (RWD) et issues des essais cliniques randomisés (RCT) -pour garantir l'interopérabilité et la qualité des données.

Elles sont en effet très hétérogènes tant par leur nature (séquences d’ADN, profils d’expression, paramètres immunitaires, images…) que par leur langage (pour partager leurs données, les professionnels de l’imagerie utilisent le même langage informatique mais ce n’est pas le cas en biologie, dans le monde des omiques…), leur type (études précliniques, cohortes, registres, essais cliniques…) et leur localisation (de multiples centres de recherche et de soins, d’organisations…). 

 

L’une des priorités du PSCC est d’accélérer et rationaliser l’accès à ces données et de garantir leur standardisation, leur qualité et leur interopérabilité. Pour relever ce challenge, le cluster met en place :

  • Un réseau fédéré de données (si ces dernières restent dans les établissements, les requêtes multisites seront désormais possibles),

  • Un point d’entrée unique pour tous les porteurs de projet,

  • Une aide aux établissements de santé afin qu’ils accélèrent les travaux engagés en matière de qualité et d’interopérabilité.

 

Conduit en partenariat avec UNICANCER, ce projet rassemble déjà l’Institut Gustave Roussy, l’Institut Curie, le Centre Léon Bérard, l’AP-HP et l’hôpital Foch et bénéficie des données du plan France Médecine Génomique 2025 (plus d’un million de séquences génomiques). Pour aller encore plus loin, le PSCC s’associe avec Cancer Core Europe, le réseau qui rassemble sept des plus grands instituts de recherche et de soins européens (Cancer Core Europe), le réseau des centres français de lutte contre le cancer Unicancer.

Échantillons biologiques

Accès accéléré et simplifié à des échantillons, soigneusement préservés et annotés, ainsi qu'aux métadonnées associées.

Les biobanques font désormais partie du kit de base de la recherche translationnelle (identification et validation de cibles thérapeutiques, de biomarqueurs pronostiques, support aux essais précliniques…).

À l’heure du très haut débit (séquençage de nouvelle génération, microfluidique, plateforme de criblage…), le PSCC fédère les acteurs français de l’oncologie (le réseau national des centres de lutte contre le cancer UNICANCER, l’Institut Gustave Roussy et l’AP-HP) pour accélérer et rationnaliser l’accès à de gros volumes d’échantillons (cellules, tissus, liquides biologiques et produits dérivés) rigoureusement conservés et annotés et aux métadonnées associées. 

Essais cliniques

Offre intégrée pour accélérer les essais cliniques, de la conception au recrutement des patients, avec des équipes support dédiées dans les hôpitaux partenaires.

Leur durée est plus longue, le recrutement plus difficile (du fait de la « fragmentation » des cancers en différents sous-types moléculaires), les critères (inclusion, évaluation…) et les modèles (essais paniers, ombrelles…) plus nombreux.

 

Nous aidons les jeunes sociétés du cluster à surmonter ces difficultés en leur offrant :

  • Le conseil d’experts internes et externes (design de l’essai, contraintes réglementaires, orientation vers les sociétés spécialisées, demandes de subventions…)

  • L’engagement opérationnel d’une équipe de cliniciens rompus aux essais cliniques précoces (investigateurs, biostatisticiens, méthodologistes, experts de la pharmacovigilance, de l’immunomonitoring, du contrôle qualité…)

  • L’appui d’un coordinateur de projet interne à toutes les étapes de l’étude

  • Un soutien financier aux promoteurs de ces essais dans les centres hospitaliers partenaires.

bottom of page